MINUTES OF THE OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 9, 2021, 2:00 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, RICHARD H. FINAN HEARING ROOM, ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

Members Present:

- o Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- o Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Emilia Strong Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority
 Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

o None

A. Co-Chair Cupp called the meeting to order

B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Cupp declared a quorum present.

C. Adoption of Regional Hearing Schedule

Co-Chair Cupp made a motion to set a schedule for the Commission. The motion was seconded by Co-Chair Sykes. With no objections, the schedule was adopted.

D. Introduction of Commission Map

President Huffman made a motion for the Commission to introduce the proposed General Assembly District plan that he presented at the 10:00 a.m. meeting. Co-Chair Sykes objected.

With the exception of Co-Chair Sykes and Leader Sykes, all Commission members voted in the affirmative. With a vote of 5-2, the motion passed and the Commission introduced its map.

E. Announcement of Commission Meeting

Co-Chair Cupp announced that the next Commission Meeting will occur on Wednesday, September 15, 2021.

F. Public Testimony on a Statewide Plan

In the following order, the following witnesses testified in-person:

- 1. Ariunaa Bayanjargac
- 2. Shela Blanchard
- 3. Steven Castro
- 4. Tala Dahbour
- 5. Susanne Dyke
- 6. Christopher Hicks
- 7. Benita Kahn
- 8. Lucy Anne McKosky
- 9. Meryl Neiman
- 10. Charles Spencer
- 11. Geoff Wise
- 12. Sarah Yuronka
- 13. Susan Cavanaugh
- 14. Sandy Bolzenius
- 15. Tamie Wilson
- 16. Mindy Hedges

G. The Commission Adjourned

Without objection, the meeting was adjourned.