

### OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 28, 2022 @ 10:00 AM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

# **Members Present:**

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

# Members Absent:

None

# A. Call to Order

Without objection, Co-Chair Sykes adjourned the meeting which began on March 27, 2022 and then called to order the March 28, 2022 meeting.

# B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared that a quorum was present.

# C. Minutes

Co-Chair Cupp moved to accept the minutes for March 27, 2022 meeting. Without objection, the minutes were accepted.

# D. Update From Independent Map Drawers

Appearing virtually from Room 116 of the Ohio Statehouse, Dr. Douglas Johnson and Dr. Michael McDonald provided an update on the map drawing process and answered questions from the Commissioners.

# E. Recess

Following discussion amongst the Commissioners, the Commission agreed to stand in recess until 3:00 P.M.

## F. The Commission Re-convened

Co-Chair Sykes returned the meeting to order. Having worked through the recess, Dr. Johnson and Dr. McDonald provided an update to the Commission Members and answered questions from Commission Members.

## G. Motion to Amend the February 24<sup>th</sup> Map

President Huffman motioned to draft constitutional changes to the map passed by the Commission on February 24<sup>th</sup>, to have said changes to the map complete by 7:00 P.M. and to have them available for review. Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. Leader Russo objected to the motion.

## H. Recess

Co-Chair Sykes announced the Commission would take a 10 minute recess.

### I. The Commission Re-convened

Co-Chair Sykes returned the meeting to order. The Commissioners returned to the motion pending by President Huffman. Discussion occurred amongst the Commissioners. Co-Chair Sykes asked to clarify that the motion would allow Dr. Johnson to continue to work. President Huffman agreed that it would. With a vote of 5-2 (Sykes, Russo) the motion was approved.

### J. Recess

Co-Chair Sykes announced the Commission would stand in recess until 9:00 P.M.

### K. The Commission Re-Convened

Co-Chair Sykes called the commission to order. Dr. Johnson provided an update to the Commission. Co-Chair Cupp moved that the Commission adopt the "3-28 Cupp Plan." President Huffman seconded the motion. Leader Russo objected and moved to take a recess. President Huffman objected to Leader Russo's motion to recess as another motion was already pending. In response, Leader Russo moved that the Commission direct Attorney Eric Clark to ask the Ohio Supreme Court for an extension of time. Co-Chair Sykes seconded the motion to direct Attorney Clark. Co-Chair Cupp noted that there was already a pending motion on the floor – with an objection made. Co-Chair Sykes called the roll on the original (Cupp) motion to adopt the "3-28 Cupp Plan." Prior to completion of the roll call, Leader Russo requested a recess. President Huffman objected. Co-Chair Sykes directed staff to call the role again on the "3-28 Cupp Plan." By a vote of 4-3 (Sykes, Russo, Faber), the "3-28 Cupp Plan" was adopted by the Commission.

### L. Adoption of Majority's Section 8(C)(2) Statement

President Huffman moved that the Commission adopt the 8(C)(2) statement.

### **M.** Recess

Co-Chair Sykes announced that the commission would take a 30 minute recess. Without objection, the Commission stood in recess.

## N. The Commission Re-Convened

Co-Chair Sykes returned the Commission to order and began with President Huffman's pending motion to adopt the Majority's 8(C)(2) statement. Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. By a vote of 4-2-1 (Russo, Sykes; Faber – abstaining), the statement was adopted.

Co-Chair Sykes moved that the Commission "adopt and pass the maps completed by Dr. Johnson and allow, if necessary, additional work to be conducted through an updated map that the Commission and the Commission does not dissolve for four weeks and can work on further improvements to the map." Leader Russo seconded the motion. President Huffman objected to the motion. Following discussion to further clarify the motion, the motion failed by a vote of 2-5 (Cupp, DeWine, Faber, Huffman, LaRose).

## **O.** Minority Statement

Co-Chair Sykes and Leader Russo submitted to the Commission the Minority Report to the "Cupp 3-28 Plan." Leader Russo read the statement orally. Auditor Faber noted for the record that he did not concur with the Minority Report.

### P. Commission Adjourned

Without objection, Co-Chair Sykes adjourned the Commission meeting.