

OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 27, 2022 @ 4:00 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

Members Present:

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

None

A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Cupp called to order the meeting which began on March 26, 2022. With no objections, Co-Chair Cupp adjourned said meeting and then called to order the March 27, 2022 meeting.

B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Cupp declared that all members were present.

C. Report From Independent Map Drawers

Appearing virtually from Room 116 of the Ohio Statehouse, Douglas Johnson and Michael McDonald provided an update on the map drawing process and answered questions from the Commissioners.

D. Instructions to Map Drawers with regard to Incumbents

President Huffman moved that the following statement be adopted:

Upon completion of the independent map drawers' merger of their independent versions of the House and Senate maps and prior to any presentation to the Commission, the independent map drawers shall consider the residence locations of non-term limited House and Senate incumbents,

and Senate incumbents in mid-term, in drafting a Commission map, and where possible without violating constitutional principles, avoid pairing incumbents and also drawing districts such that Senators protected under Section 5 of Article 11 no longer live in the district they represent.

Incumbents will be identified as House or Senate and no other identifying information shall be used.

The motion was seconded by Co-Chair Cupp. Without objection, the statement was adopted.

E. Recess

Co-Chair Cupp stated the commission would stand in recess until 9:00 P.M.

F. The Commission Re-convened

Upon return from recess, the Commission Members discussed providing direction for the independent map drawers.

Leader Russo made a motion to accept the Michael McDonald proposal which pairs Montgomery County with Greene County. Co-Chair Sykes seconded the motion.

Following a discussion with the commissioners, Leader Russo withdrew her motion.

G. Minutes

Co-Chair Sykes moved that the minutes from the March 26, 2022 meeting be approved. Leader Russo seconded the motion. Without objection, the minutes from the March 26, 2022 meeting were approved.

H. Commission in Recess

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Cupp recessed the meeting until 10:00 A.M. on March 28, 2022 or earlier at the call of the Co-Chairs (if needed).