

OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 26, 2022 @ 4:30 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

Members Present:

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution (attending in-person and virtually)
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

None

A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called to order the meeting which began on March 25, 2022. With no objections, Co-Chair Sykes adjourned said meeting and then called to order the March 26, 2022 meeting.

B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

C. Minutes

Leader Russo made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 25, 2022 meeting. The motion was seconded by Co-Chair Cupp who offered an amendment to the minutes to include the following items that were raised in the March 25, 2022 meeting:

- 1. President Huffman requested that independent map drawers present multiple options for Franklin County;
- 2. [Co-Chair Cupp] requested that any areas in which the map drawers intend to present to the Commission, that the information in the maps be presented to Commission members 90 minutes before the start of the scheduled Commission meeting; and,

3. Prior to drafting a full General Assembly district plan, the various proposals were to be presented to the Commission for discussion, and then the Commission would give direction to the map makers on how to proceed pursuant to the rules that [the Commission] previously adopted.

President Huffman seconded the motion to amend the minutes. Without objection, the minutes were amended.

Without objection, the amended minutes were approved.

D. Report from Independent Map Drawers

Appearing virtually from Room 116 of the Ohio Statehouse, Douglas Johnson and Michael McDonald provided an update on the map drawing process and answered questions from the Commissioners.

E. Motion to Send Matters to Mediation

Prompted by the discussion with the independent map drawers, the Commission sent three matters to mediation.

F. Motion to Allow Virtual Meetings

Leader Russo made a motion to maintain a virtual meeting option for the remainder of the scheduled meetings. Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. With no objections, the motion was agreed to.

G. Commission in Recess

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Sykes recessed the meeting until 4:00 P.M. on March 27, 2022 or earlier at the call of the Co-Chairs (if needed).