

OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 22, 2022 @ 9:00 AM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

Members Present:

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

None

A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called the meeting to order.

B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

C. Minutes

Speaker Cupp made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 21, 2022 meeting. The motion was seconded by President Huffman. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

D. Adoption of a Meeting Schedule

Commissioners discussed the schedule options proposed by the Co-Chairs. With no objections to an oral motion, the following schedule was adopted:

Date	Time
Wednesday, March 23, 2022	5:00 PM
Thursday, March 24, 2022	7:00 PM*
Friday, March 25, 2022	2:00 PM*
Saturday, March 26, 2022	4:00 PM
Sunday, March 27, 2022	4:00 PM
Monday, March 28, 2022	10:00 AM

^{*}Denotes virtual meeting option

E. Engagement of a Mediator

Catherine Geyer and Scott Coburn from the 6th Circuit Court of Appeals provided an overview of mediation services offered by the court and answered questions from the Commissioners.

Auditor Faber motioned to engage Ms. Geyer and Mr. Coburn as mediators for the Commission. Leader Russo seconded the motion. Leader Huffman made note that – in doing so – Commissioners should be told when a privilege does not attach. With no objections to an oral motion, the motion was unanimously adopted.

F. Additional Discussion

Leader Russo made a motion regarding directions to the staff involved in the map drawing. Following a discussion, the motion was held for further discussion at the next meeting of the Commission. Co-Chair Cupp also noted a need to discuss detailed directions for the map drawers at the next meeting of the Commission.

G. Adjourn

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Sykes adjourned the meeting.