

# OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 21, 2022 @ 7:30 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

### **Members Present:**

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

### **Members Absent:**

None

### A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Cupp called the meeting to order.

## B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Cupp declared a quorum present.

## C. Minutes

Speaker Cupp made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 19, 2022 meeting. The motion was seconded by Sen. Sykes. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

## D. Discussion regarding Map Drawers & Mediators

Co-Chair Sykes recommended that Michael McDonald be retained by the Commission as an independent map drawer.

Co-Chair Cupp recommended that Douglas Johnson to be retained by the Commission as an independent map drawer.

Co-Chair Cupp reported on the status of his communications with the Ohio State Bar Association for recommendations on potential mediators to be retained by the Commission. Co-Chair Sykes stated that he was informed that Judge Sutton would avail to the Commission the mediators used by the court.

Co-Chair Sykes made a motion that Michael McDonald and Douglas Johnson be retained by the Commission as independent map drawers. Leader Russo seconded the motion. Co-Chair Sykes also distributed a proposed schedule and moved to adopt said schedule.

#### E. Recess

Co-Chair Cupp recessed the committee until 9:30 P.M.

## F. Reconvene

Co-Chair Cupp called the meeting to back to order at 9:50 P.M.

## G. Motion to Retain Map drawers

Co-Chair Sykes restated his motion that the Commission approve the recommendations of the Co-Chairs to retain Michael McDonald and Douglas Johnson as map drawers for the Commission. The motion was seconded by Leader Russo. With no objections, the motion passed.

### H. Motion to Schedule

Revisiting a prior motion to schedule, Co-Chair Cupp stated that Commission members had requested time to review the proposed schedule in advance of the next Commission meeting. With no objection, the motion was placed on hold until the next scheduled meeting of the Commission.

## I. Presentation by Chief Mediator of Circuit Court

Co-Chair Sykes moved that the Chief Mediator for the Circuit Court be invited to present before the Commission. With no objection, the motion was approved.

## J. Adjourn

With no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting was adjourned.