

OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 19, 2022 @ 2:00 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

Members Present:

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

• None

A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called the meeting to order.

B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

C. Minutes

Speaker Cupp made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 2, 2022 meeting. The motion was seconded by Leader Russo. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

D. Discussion among Commissioners

Several members of the Commission presented options as to how to proceed. Discussion included, among other things, the use of independent map drawers and mediators.

E. Recess

Co-Chair Sykes recessed the Commission.

F. Reconvene / Roll Call

Co-Chair Sykes called the meeting back to order with all Commissioners present.

G. Motion to Proceed

President Huffman presented a five-point motion to the Commission. The motion was to:

- Direct all staff to abide by the Constitution and Ohio Supreme Court decisions;
- Reconvene at 7:00 P.M on Sunday, March 20, 2022 if the co-chairs have recommendations prepared to present to the Commission with regard to the hiring of independent map drawers and mediators;
- Schedule a meeting for Monday, March 21, 2022 at 7 P.M.;
- Direct all currently employed (four) map drawers to meet in the statehouse to discuss how they can work together and begin to identify issues the Commission will need to decide; and,
- Schedule a meeting for Tuesday, March 22, 2022 at 9 A.M. to continue the work of the Commission.

Co-Chair Sykes proposed to amend the motion to include that the fourth point (above) shall include the four map drawers and one staff member from each of the commissioners.

Co-Chair Sykes called an oral vote on the amended motion before the Commission. The motion carried with unanimous approval.

H. Motion to Amend the Rules

Auditor Faber distributed to the Commission a motion to amend Rule 3 to allow for virtual hearing participation. Discussion occurred, and the motion was agreed to be held for further consideration at a later meeting.

I. Adjourn

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Sykes adjourned the meeting.