

# OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – MARCH 1, 2022 @ 2:00 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

#### **Members Present:**

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

#### **Members Absent:**

None

#### A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called the meeting to order.

# B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

# C. Minutes

Speaker Cupp made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 23 (through February 24), 2022 meeting. The motion was seconded by President Huffman. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

#### **D.** Motion to Approve Expenses

Co-Chair Cupp moved to approve payment in the amount of \$7004.61 to the Tribune Chronicle, or the November 7, 2021 public notice of the adopted General Assembly plan, to be paid out of the Commission line item pursuant to Rule 11. Leader Russo seconded the motion. Without objection, the motion was approved.

#### E. Testimony

The Commission heard testimony from the following sponsors of submitted Congressional district plans:

- Ryan Brune
- David Helmick (written testimony only)
- Michael Metzinger (written testimony only)

# F. Presentation of Congressional Plan

President Huffman presented the plan submitted under the title of "Frank Strigari" on the Redistricting Commission on March 1, 2022 Discussed followed between Commission members.

# **G.** Attorney General Opinion

Co-Chair Cupp referenced opinion he had requested from Ohio Attorney General Yost regarding the vote required to approve a Congressional district plan. Members discussed the opinion and various provisions of Ohio Constitution Art. XI and VIII.

# H. Recess

Co-Chair Sykes recessed the Commission meeting until 10:00 AM on Wednesday, March 2, 2022.

# I. Reconvene / Roll Call

Co-Chair Cupp called the meeting back to order at 10:00 AM on Wednesday, March 2, 2022. With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

# J. Motions to Adopt Congressional Plan / Testimony

Co-Chair Sykes moved that the Commission adopt the Congressional district plan titled "Yuko/Sykes SB 237 Revision" that was submitted to the Commission website on Tuesday, February 8, 2022. While the Commission stood at ease waiting for copies of the map to be made, testimony was offered by Ryan Brune regarding a new Congressional district plan he had proposed. Once distributed, Co-Chair Cupp asked the staff to call the roll on the motion to consider adoption of the Congressional district plan map titled "Yuko/Sykes SB 237 Revision." By a vote of 2-5 (Cupp, DeWine, Faber, Huffman, LaRose), the motion failed.

President Huffman moved that the Commission adopt the Congressional district plan under the name of "Frank Strigari" that was submitted to the Commission website on March 2, 2022. The motion was seconded by Co-Chair Cupp. After discussion on the plan, Leader Russo moved to amend the "Frank Strigari" plan with the Congressional district plan entitled "Dem Amendments to remedy invalidated GA Plan" that was submitted to the Commission website on March 2, 2022. Following discussion by the Commission members, the roll was called and the motion to amend failed by a vote of 2-5 (Cupp, DeWine, Faber, Huffman, LaRose).

Co-Chair Cupp called the roll on the motion to adopt the Congressional district plan under the name of "Frank Strigari" that was submitted to the Commission website on March 2, 2022. By a vote of 5-2 (Russo, Sykes), the motion was approved and the plan was adopted.

# K. Adjourn

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Cupp adjourned the meeting.