

## OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – THURSDAY, JANUARY 20, 2022 @ 2 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

# **Members Present:**

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

# Members Absent:

• None

# A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called the meeting to order.

# B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

# C. Minutes

Co-Chair Sykes asked if there were any objections to the minutes. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

### **D.** Statement by Commission Member

Co-Chair Cupp made a statement for the record.

### E. Motion to Recess

Co-Chair Sykes made a motion to recess. Hearing no objections, the Commission stood in recess.

## F. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called the Commission to order.

## G. Presentment

Co-Chair Cupp provided a summary presentation after which Mr. Chris Glassburn testified. Discussion followed in response to questions from Commission members.

## H. Commission in Recess

Co-Chair Sykes announced that the Commission would recess until the call of the Chair.

## I. Call to Order (January 22, 2022)

Co-Chair Cupp called the Commission to order.

## J. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, a quorum was declared.

## K. Presentment

Mr. Ray DiRossi and Mr. Blake Springhetti testified before the Commission. Discussion followed in response to questions from Commission members. Mr. Chris Glassburn again testified before the Commission. Discussion followed in response to questions from Commission members.

### L. Commission in Recess

Co-Chair Cupp announced that the Commission would stand in recess.

### M. Call to Order

Co-Chair Cupp called the Commission to order.

### N. Commission votes

President Huffman moved that the Commission adopt the plan identified as "January 22<sup>nd</sup> Statewide House Districts and Senate Districts." Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. By a vote of 5-2 (Russo, Sykes), the motion carried and the plan was adopted.

President Huffman moved to adopt the XI.08(C)(2) statement. Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. By a vote of 5-2 (Russo, Sykes) the motion carried and the statement was adopted.

The Commission accepted the XI.08(C)(2) minority statement submitted by Co-Chair Sykes and Leader Russo.

### **O.** Commission Adjourns

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Cupp adjourned the meeting.