

OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION

Ohio Redistricting Commission Members Issue Statement Announcing Meeting

Members of the Ohio Redistricting Commission today issued the following joint statement announcing Tuesday's meeting of the commission. The members of the commission are: Governor Mike DeWine, Speaker Robert Cupp (co-chair), Auditor Keith Faber, Senate President Matt Huffman, Secretary of State Frank LaRose, House Minority Leader-elect Allison Russo, and Senator Vernon Sykes (co-chair).

"This week, the Ohio Supreme Court, in a 4-3 decision, invalidated General Assembly district maps adopted by the Ohio Redistricting Commission. In light of this ruling and the short timeframe to produce a revised map, the Ohio Redistricting Commission will reconvene on Tuesday, January 18, at 10:00am in the House Finance Room, Statehouse Room 313. To help facilitate the commission's deliberations, individual commission members are instructing respective staff members to abide by the court's ruling and begin identifying possible areas to address the court's ruling regarding Section 6 of the Ohio Constitution. Consistent with the court's ruling, individual commission members will have access to other commission members' relevant staff and contractors. Additionally, the Ohio Redistricting Commission website – www.redistricting.ohio.gov – will be available soon for public comment. Commission meetings will be live streamed on OhioChannel.org. An agenda for Tuesday's meeting will be forthcoming."

###

Senate Contact: Giulia Cambieri, (614) 644-5533 House Contact: Aaron Mulvey, (614) 466-8759