

# OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION MINUTES – WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 23 @ 4 PM OHIO STATEHOUSE, ROOM 313 ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

#### **Members Present:**

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Allison Russo, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Acting Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

#### **Members Absent:**

None

## A. Call to Order

Co-Chair Sykes called the meeting to order.

#### B. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, Co-Chair Sykes declared a quorum present.

#### C. Minutes

Co-Chair Cupp moved to accept the minutes of February 22, 2022. President Huffman seconded the motion. Without objection, the minutes were approved.

# **D.** Motion to Approve Expenses

Co-Chair Cupp moved to approve payment in the amount of \$11,125.79 to the Dispatch Media Group, and \$5,087.55 to Enquirer Media for the November 7, 2021 public notice of the adopted

General Assembly plan, to be paid out of the Commission line item pursuant to Rule 11. Leader Russo seconded the motion. Without objection, the motion was approved.

# E. Public Testimony

The Commission received testimony from the following sponsors of submitted, statewide Congressional district plans:

- Paul Miller
- Gary Gale (Stark County Democratic Party)
- Catherine Turcer & Trevor Martin (Fair Districts Ohio)
- Andrew Green (written testimony only)
- Benjamin Green (written testimony only)
- Stephen Kellat (written testimony only)
- Anthony Matejcic (written testimony only)

#### F. Member Discussion

Commission member discussed the status of pending General Assembly district plans.

## G. Recess

Co-Chair Sykes stated that the Commission would stand in recess until 11:30 A.M. on Thursday, February 24, 2022.

## H. Call to Order (January 24, 2022)

Co-Chair Cupp called the Commission to order at 2:30 P.M. on Thursday, February 24, 2022.

## I. Roll Call

With seven members in attendance, a quorum was declared.

## J. Public Testimony

The Commission received testimony from the following sponsors of submitted, statewide Congressional district plans:

- Linus Beatty
- Trevor Martin (Fair Districts Ohio)
- Freda Levenson (League of Women Voters of Ohio) (written only)

# K. Discussion on General Assembly District Plan

Co-Chair Cupp recognized President Huffman to give an overview of a new General Assembly district plan. Members discussed the presentation.

#### L. Recess

Co-Chair Cupp recessed the meeting until 6:00 P.M. so that the proposed plan could be uploaded to the Redistricting Commission website.

#### M. Reconvene / Roll Call

Co-Chair Cupp called the meeting back into order at 6:00 P.M. and noted that all members of the Commission were present.

## N. Commission Vote on General Assembly District Plan

Co-Chair Cupp recognized President Huffman for a motion. President Huffman moved that the Commission adopt the plan submitted on the Commission's website under the name Paul DiSantis (February 24 2022 HDs & SDs). Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. Discussion followed in response to questions from Commission members. By a vote of 4-3 (Faber, Russo, Sykes), the motion passed and the plan was adopted.

# O. Vote on Adoption of Statement

Co-Chair Cupp recognized Secretary LaRose for a motion. Secretary LaRose moved that the Commission adopt the following statement: "The General Assembly district plan that this commission just adopted would authorize me as Secretary of State to issue to the boards of elections directives by which House and Senate candidates who have filed to run shall comply with Article 11, Section 9C, if any candidates wish to do so." Auditor Faber seconded the motion. Discussion followed in response to questions from Commission members. By a vote of 5-2 (Russo, Sykes), the motion passed.

# P. Motion to accept written testimony

Co-Chair Sykes moved to accept the written testimony of Kathleen Clyde. Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. Without objection, the motion passed.

## Q. Recess

Co-Chair Cupp announced that the Commission would stand in recess for one hour for preparation of the XI.08(C)(2) statement. The Commission reconvened at 7:50 P.M.

#### R. Reconvene

Co-Chair Cupp reconvened the meeting at 7:50 P.M. and noted that all Commission members were present.

## S. Adoption of XI.08(C)(2) statement and minority statement

Leader Russo offered the XI.08(C)(2) minority statement submitted by Co-Chair Sykes and Leader Russo. Without objection, the statement was accepted.

President Huffman moved to adopt the XI.08(C)(2) statement. Co-Chair Cupp seconded the motion. By a vote of 5-2 (Russo, Sykes) the motion carried and the statement was adopted.

Auditor Faber stated for the record that he did not concur with the Minority Report submitted by Senator Sykes and Leader Russo.

#### T. Commission Adjourns

With no further business to come before the Commission, Co-Chair Cupp adjourned the meeting.