# MINUTES OF THE OHIO REDISTRICTING COMMISSION FRIDAY, AUGUST 6, 2021, 9:30 A.M. OHIO STATEHOUSE, RICHARD H. FINAN HEARING ROOM, ONE CAPITOL SQUARE, COLUMBUS, OHIO

### Members Present:

- Governor Mike DeWine, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Auditor of State Keith Faber, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Secretary of State Frank LaRose, member of the Ohio Redistricting Commission pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Speaker of the House of Representatives Robert R. Cupp, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Minority Leader Emilia Strong Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senate President Matt Huffman, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the President of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution
- Senator Vernon Sykes, appointed to the Ohio Redistricting Commission by the Minority Leader of the Senate pursuant to Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution

Members Absent:

o None

# A. Governor called the meeting to order

# **B.** Presentation of any member appointments to the Ohio Redistricting Commission; order that any new appointments be entered in record of proceedings.

Governor DeWine read the names of the appointees of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, President of the Senate, and Minority Leader of the Senate into the record.

# C. Oath of Office

Governor DeWine administered the oath of office to all the members of the Commission. Secretary of State LaRose administered the oath of office to Governor DeWine.

# D. Roll Call, Governor DeWine declares a quorum present.

# E. Filing of Certificate of Compliance with public meeting notice provisions of Section 121.22 of the Revised Code.

### F. Presentation of Co-Chairpersons

Governor DeWine read the names of the appointed Co-Chairs into the record.

### G. Governor DeWine turns the meeting over to the Co-Chairpersons

### H. Co-Chairpersons welcome and opening remarks

Co-Chairperson Vernon Sykes welcomed everyone, acknowledged the will of the voters and stated that it was his goal to work cooperatively. Co-Chairperson Cupp welcomed everyone, stated that he looked forward to working with all the members and announced that a regional hearing schedule would be forthcoming.

### I. Discussion/Comments

None

### J. The Commission Adjourned